top of page

Dhyana

Updated: Jun 3, 2020

dhyana - a state of meditation

The techniques that I use to find myself moving into a state of meditation are found in Patañjali’s Eight-Limb Path of Yoga.


In this blog I am writing about dhyana, the seventh-limb on the eight-limb path.


If your new to the Healing Motion page please take the time to read my previous blogs. In those writings I describe how I intertwine Patañjali’s ancient teachings, from the first limb through the sixth limb, into my everyday life.


Do you have a meditation practice currently? I try to practice daily. My meditation practice doesn’t always include a sitting position. I may find myself in a meditative state when I am hiking, gardening or laying on my back admiring the clouds.

Before I feel myself moving towards a meditative state I practice feeling myself being ‘in the moment’ or ‘being present.’ This is where I am calm and all is well in my world.

I’ve read that when a person is depressed this means they are living in the past. Their breath will be slow and shallow. If a person is anxious they are living in the future. Their breath is fast and labored.


Check in with the quality of breath right now. How does your breath feel moving through your body?

The breath in yoga is known as Prana.

.

Prana - life force energy - ayama - to choreograph

Pranayama is translated to - control the breath. Pranayama is Patañjali’s fourth-limb.


Meditation works wonders for helping to clear the thoughts on your mind. When you practice meditation at home whether your sitting or laying you want to feel comfortable. Find a place in your home or nearby with as few distractions as possible.


Before my meditation practice I connect to my spirit and set an intention.

It’s nice when I come out of my meditation practice and feel joyful.


A meditation practice can help you when you notice your self reaching for an addiction. Give your soul what it truly desires.


At first when you practice meditation if you find your mind wandering that’s normal. To improve the duration of your meditation try setting a soothing timer. Then you can simply focus on your smooth steady breath while in a relaxed state.

.

For your reading pleasure below is an excerpt from my fictional story,

dYnO’s DaNcE - On The Eight-Limb Path

- this excerpt is from Chapter 4 - Yoga Rock - Hari Monkey is leading Grandma Hazel, Jeannie Rose, Jake and a slew of other characters in a yoga class outside.

***

The final posture was Savasana (Corpse Pose). It was my own yoga teachers, on planet Earth, who taught me that this posture is the most difficult to master. When one moves into Savasana, that’s the time to release all the thoughts on your mind.

Hari’s hypnotic voice was soft. “Feel as though you are simply water. You are a living stream of water. Feel yourself cleansing any tension from the body by letting the tense areas dissolve within your vastness. Allow yourself to float down, down, downstream until you arrive at a place of stillness.”

I felt my whole body descend down into a cozy coffin of stillness. Lying there in the meditative posture I simply let go, just like my Gurus had taught me. Though it was bright outside on Yoga Rock, I didn't notice, as I was in a dark state of happiness. I was unsure of how much time had passed as I lay there in meditative blissfulness.

Eventually, I opened my eyes to find the others sitting in their own comfortable seats. Hari Monkey had his hands together at heart center and I mirrored him. He ended the practice by saying, “All of you are my Guru.”



Thank you for reading.

To order your very own copy find


Also, if your in the Portland Oregon area.... you may find your copy for free in a book nook - in the Hollywood district :-)



Namaste.


Be a Flower,

Share your Beauty <3



Alicia

Healing Motion 123 (Facebook)

***

To my readers:

Are you flowing on all levels -emotionally,

mentally, physically and spiritually?

If you feel stuck on any one of the above levels

Contact me for a private customized meditation session.



Online resources for this blog:



https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dhyāna_in_Buddhism


.




bottom of page